Catching my breath

The variety of new things I’ve learned and played with in the last few months still amazes me.  Perhaps the amazement is not that I’ve learned so much, but that I’ve barely scratched the surface.  I had thought I’d be able to try out each thing as it arose and then reflect on the process here in the blog. Right.  Immersed in this stimulating environment where there are so many knowledgeable voices posing questions and sharing insights, I have spent time absorbing as much as I can.  My fellow staff members at school have had to put up with my constant attempts to share all this new information – the emailed interesting link, a conversation over lunch, discussions of possibilities I think would be neat in their content area, and so on.   However, I have not taken the time to reflect in a blog post for any of it in the past six weeks or so.  Sharing with others is good – reflecting for yourself is also necessary.

Harbor MorningIn some measure, I’ve been waiting for a “great idea” or some kind of topic or experience that would make for an insightful post. Somewhere along the way I got a little intimidated by the more in-depth posts of others and forgot that I could just post a little something now and again.    As a new semester starts – always on that academic calendar – I renew my intention to reflect on little things as well as perhaps the greater questions as they arise.  I’m starting an online course in webcasting this weekend, and I’m sure it will provide fodder as it unfolds.  In addition, I’m taking a grad class in distance education – another source for reflection.  As I continue learning hand over fist (eyes over ears?) I will try to remember to pause, breathe a moment, and put a few words down about my adventure.

Leave a comment

Filed under my learning

Leave a Reply

